Magic 95.5 Featured Video

2010 wouldn’t be 2010 without a new album from Prince.  Fortunately, the legendary artist has decided to unleash a brand new album this summer, (appropriately) titled ’20Ten.’

As of right now, little is known about what the album will actually sound like, although it’s all but guaranteed to provide further proof of Prince’s incredible longevity. “Prince is demonstrating that in 2010 it is still possible for artists to work in an independent and innovative capacity, highlighted here in a world first of delivering the new album across multiple territories, through complementary distribution channels,” Prince’s representative Kiran Sharma says. “The new album, 20TEN, is a celebratory, quintessential Prince masterpiece and marks the start of the international tour.” (See here for European tour dates.)

Rolling Stone reports that the album, which was written, produced and recorded entirely from Prince’s own Paisley Park studios in Minnesota, will feature appearances from saxophonist Maceo Parker and singers Shelby J, Liv Warfield and Elisa Dease. As Prince says, fans should expect to hear “strong funk and new wave elements” on ’20Ten.’ And, in quintessential fashion, Prince is choosing an unusual way to bring his new album to the world.

According to Spinner, Prince will release ’20Ten’ as a newspaper add-on. Meaning, the album will be available through several papers over Europe, first Belgian newspaper Het Nieuwsblad on July 10. On July 22, he’ll give it away to German fans, via Germany’s Rolling Stone magazine. And according to the Guardian, the new album will also be given away in the UK’s Daily Mirror and Daily Record, and in France’s on July 10. As you may recall, the artist promoted 2009’s ‘LotusFlow3r’ in a similar way, by giving it away to British fans and concertgoers via a UK newspaper.

A global release date has not yet been determined and it’s still uncertain how Prince will choose to distribute his album to his US fans. For now, though, you can at least check out the full track list for Prince’s new album, ’20Ten,’ below.

Prince, ’20Ten’ Track Listing:

1. ‘Compassion’

2. ‘Endlessly Beginning’

3. ‘Future Soul Song’

4. ‘Sticky Like Glue’

5. ‘Lavaux’

6. ‘Act Of God’

7. ‘Walk In Sand’

8. ‘Sea Of Everything’

9. ‘Everybody Loves Me’

10. ‘Untitled Bonus Track’