Header Banner
WERE AM Mobile App 2020


Magic 95.5 Featured Video

Bowling Green State University women’s basketball senior Lauren Prochaska has received yet another honor on the eve of the 2010-11 season.  On Tuesday (Nov. 9), Prochaska was named to the Naismith preseason watch list. She’s a graduate of Jonathan Alder High School in Plain City,  Ohio.

Lauren also was named to the John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 30 list by the Los Angeles Athletic Club … one of 30 national finalists for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award … selected to the Preseason All-MAC Team … has been named a co-captain for the 2010-11 season … also a member of BGSU’s five-person team Leadership Council.

Additionally she was the MAC conference  Player of the Year for 2 consecutive seasons … also, obviously, an All-MAC First-Team selection … the 2010 MAC Tournament’s MVP … a State Farm Coaches’ All-America Team honorable-mention selection … was named one of 52 regional finalists (i.e., made the all-region team) for the State Farm Coaches’ All-America Team, for the second-straight year … made the cutdown to 40 national finalists for the A-A team, assuring her of the honorable-mention accolades … additionally, was named to the Academic All-MAC Team … named the team’s Player of the Year for the second-straight season … currently 3rd in school history in scoring, with 1,699 career points … the school’s career record holder with 241 three-point field goals made … started all 34 games this year and all 102 of BG’s games in her career

The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2010-11 college basketball season. The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T* will be awarded on April 4, 2011 at the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Indianapolis.

“We have a dynamic group of players this year whom we expect to lead their teams to successful seasons,” said Eric Oberman, Atlanta Tipoff Club executive director. “It will be another competitive race to see which candidate claims the most prestigious trophy in college basketball.”

Since 2005, presenting sponsor AT&T has set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining the trophy winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging** fan voting will account for 25 percent of all of the final results – more than any other national college basketball award.

”AT&T is proud to help recognize outstanding student-athletes as part of our relationship with the Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year program,” said Jason Simpson, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships executive director. “We look forward to watching an action-packed season and encourage fans to get in the game by voting for their favorite player.”

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors will compile a mid-season team of the top 30 players in the nation. Then in March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists.

The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball’s player of the year. For more information, visit http://www.naismithawards.com.

Also On Magic 95.5 FM: